Brief History of Usui Reiki

In 1922, Dr. Mikao Usui (Founder of Ryoho Gakkai) received his Healing Gift after fasting and meditating for 21 days on Mount Kurama, Japan.  He called this Bright White Light that came down to him from Heaven, Reiki – God’s Healing Energy.  However, he might have remained a footnote in history had the 1923 Tokyo Earthquake and Tsunami not compelled him into ACTION.  He rushed to the most devastated region and “healed” thousands while training many others to assist him with his healing morality, Reiki.  During this time, he opened three clinics, trained 2000 Reiki I Healers and 20 Reiki Master Healers.  In 1925, the Japanese Government awarded him a High Merit Award, the ‘Kun San’ for his selfless deeds.  Dr. Usui and Dr. Hayashi worked together to broadcast Usui Reiki Healing Practices and Teachings throughout Japan.  Then Dr. Hayashi, a retired naval doctor and Reiki Master, opened his Usui Reiki Clinic in Tokyo, Japan.  Dr. Usui blessed him by sending his 20 Reiki Masters to assist him and were instructed to give Reiki Treatment in pairs by Dr. Hayashi. 

More about Dr. Usui Sensei original organization, Usui Reiki Ryoho Gakkai from an 2014 Interview in Ashiya City, Japan between William Rand and Hiroshi Doi Sensei, Gendai Ho Reiki Master.  He developed a system of Reiki called “Gendai Reiki Ho” and authored a book, “Iyashino Gendai Reiki Ho, A Modern Reiki Method of Healing.”

In the meantime, Mrs. Takata, a first generation Japanese-American, traveled from Hawaii to Japan to visit her parents.  While is Japan she entered into the Hospital for an operation and while there, she heard about Usui Reiki at Dr. Hayashi’s Clinic and decided to try this therapy.  She required relief from a number of medical conditions, including asthma and after four months of Reiki Treatments, her health was restored.  Under Dr. Hayashi guidance, she became a devoted Usui Reiki I/II student.  She traveled back to Hawaii and invited Dr. Hayaski to a wedding, he decided to stay longer to attune and trained her to become a Usui Reiki Master, 1937.  She practiced his Hands-On-Healing Techniques. 

Mrs. Takata brought Usui Reiki to the US in 1938 then to the world but training availability was only given orally, the class size was limited, and Reiki Master Training was costly until 1980.  After her passing in 1980, Iris Ishikura decided that she would follow her own inner guidance and teach Reiki for a more reasonable fee.   Today, Usui Reiki has expanded to over 30 different branches.  Each branch has its own Reiki Master Teacher who endeavors to keep Reiki energy pure including William Rand at International Center Reiki Training (ICRT).

Reiki for Hospitals

A study done in 2007 by the National Health Interview Survey indicates that 1.2 million adults  and 161,000 children received one or more sessions of energy healing therapy such as Reiki in the previous year.  According to the American Hospital Association, in 2007, 15% or over 800 American hospitals offer “Reiki” as part of hospital services.  Hospital Staff who have received Usui Reiki training including Lay Practitioners often administer these Reiki Sessions.  In 2018, energy healing therapy sessions has grown to 4 million.  The growth rate demand is 17-to-4 (healing session-to-practitioner).

…Reiki is always changing and has now evolved to Usui/Holy Fire® III Reiki

                 “ It is as if a God has breathed new life into Reiki.” 

                      ~ Laurelle Shanti Gaia

Reiki respects Free Will; it will not heal us or develop higher states unless we invite it to do so.  This requires that we be willing to change.  This process can include improving the quality with the understanding of Reiki’s unlimited potential.  Both Dr. Usui and Dr. Hayashi encouraged their students to further refine and improve the quality of Reiki.  This concept can be liken to a library.  Once one has a library card, one has access to the books in the library, but that does not mean that one has read all the books and can apply all the knowledge and wisdom they contain.  The same is true of Reiki.   If you are able to access the Reiki energy and if you give it permission and work with it, it can refine your ability to channel ever higher and more effective levels of healing energy.

In January 2014, a more refined and a higher-level consciousness, energy, came to William Rand.  First as a symbol then as experiences.  His experiences was so clear and powerful that he trusted what he shown and followed Jesus’s guidance and instructions.  Holy Fire® Reiki was birth!

Usui/Holy Fire® III Reiki is the latest form of Usui/Holy Fire® Reiki.   It is both powerful and gentle and provides purification, healing, empowerment and guidance.  Usui/Holy Fire® III Reiki energy is noticeably more refined and comes from a higher level of consciousness.

Some of the qualities students have experienced include:

  • Works continuously even when not thinking about it and spontaneously heals issues as they come up.
  • Always respects free will.
  • Heals deeply and quickly without distress.
  • Heals relationships and interactions with others.
  • Releases worry and replaces it with a sense of safety in a most pronounced way.
  • Spontaneously provides guidance that is palatable for every level of life experience.
  • Tends to develop all the personality traits that are healthy for a person to have such as love of self and others, kindness, patience, confidence, vitality, enthusiasm, optimism, trust, joy, peace and so forth.
  • Administers a nurturing feeling of being loved that is very deep and more refined.
  • Once received, it continues to develop itself to be more evolved and effective.